Art in Science Competition at MicroTAS 2016

Lab on a Chip and the National Institute of Standards Technology (NIST) were pleased to present the Art in Science award at the µTAS 2016 Conference on 13 October 2016. The award highlights the aesthetic value in scientific illustrations while still conveying scientific merit. Many fantastic submissions were received this year with the winner selected by Sam Keltie, Lab on a Chip Executive Editor, Darwin Reyes, NIST and Dino Di Carlo, Lab on a Chip Editorial Board member.

The winner of the completion was Vaibhav Jain, Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA, with The Rising Sun. The further runners up are Gokce Ozkazanc, Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey, with Composition of Particles in a Droplet.

Susanna Lladó Maldonado and Detlev Rasch, Institute of Biochemical Engieering, TU Braunschweig from the EUROMBR-consortium European network for innovative microbioreactor applications in bioprocess development (European Union’s Seventh Framework Programme for research, technological development and demonstration, Marie Curie Actions, Multi-ITN, Project ID 608104) won the third price of the Art in Science Competition with the title 

Wellness microresort for cells

 Mixing performance in a microbubble column-bioreactor

Congratulations of the ibvt team to Susanna and Detlev. Great job!